Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Poetry: - Toru Dutt, Tagore, Aurobindo, Sarojini Naidu.

Poetry: - Toru Dutt, Tagore, Aurobindo, Sarojini Naidu.

            India English poetry has its own achievement. It’s a phenomenon, covering colonial and post colonial period. It has legacy of English period as well as conflicts against it. Our great national leaders, thinkers have remained practitioners including Derozio, Aurobindo and Sarojini Naidu. Like British literature, Indian English poetry has not clear classification according to periods. Though Naik has periodized it :-
  1. From the beginning to 1857
  2. 1857-1920
  3. 1920 – 1947 and
  4. Independence and after
            There is no explain except historical or political; Toru Dutt, Aurobindo, Tagore, and Naidu could be put into second period of 1857 – 1920. According to others as there are no fixed reasons of classifications, great periods have been considered.
1.      1825 – 1900: colonial period
2.      1900 – 1950 : nationalism and
3.      1950 – 1980: modernism
4.      After 1980: post modernism.


No comments:

Post a Comment